Online Assessments for jobs- really?

I am looking for a job. It is excruciatingly frustrating!! Now I have found something I might like- a Property Claim rep for an Insurance company which I would totally be qualified for and I was in the running (supposedly) toward being a final candidate. But then I had to complete an “online assessment” and all of a sudden I don’t score high enough for them. What!!!!!????? So I would be totally qualified but since I don’t pass their “test” I am all of a sudden not qualified? And it was a bunch of questions about what you would do in dealing with customers and coworkers. Isn’t that what training is for? And aren’t some companies different in their problem management practices? Some companies want their reps to handle it themselves and other ones would like you to tattle to management. So I’m supposed to be clairvoyant? Since I have a family to take care of I yelled about it but then I thought that since they are listed as the Top 100 companies for Working Mothers I should give them a second chance and exploit their practices. I just applied for 3 more positions to experiment which answers will get me in the final running. Then maybe they will consider that you might want to meet the people you are considering instead of relying on an “assessment” to pick them for you.

About spunkyinred

29 year old Mom with infant looking for a job in the South where the Civil War victory by the North is still being resented. Former SF support soldier looking to find common ground and to further career in something I can be proud of myself for.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

